A House Of Women

Shakespeare Trilogy

Eric Malpass

978 0 7551 0196 2
Paperback | 250 pp
205 x 135 mm
Price: £8.99, $14.95, €13.95

978 0 7551 4173 9
Kindle eBook
Price: £4.99, $8.99, €6.99


Now retired from the London theatre, Shakespeare returns to Stratford to live with his wife and children. But coming home to a house of women where routines have long been established is no easy task: his daughters merely find their famous father an unwanted intrusion. This moving story of Shakespeare’s latter years in Stratford centres on the adjustments the family has to make, and explores Will’s relationship with his two daughters and the men they decide to marry. This concluding novel in Eric Malpass’ masterful trilogy on Shakespeare’s life is as memorable as Sweet Will and The Cleopatra Boy.

Author biography:

Eric Malpass worked in a bank after leaving school, but his firm ambition was to become a novelist and he wrote in his spare time for many years.

His first book, ‘Morning’s at Seven’, was published to wide acclaim. With an intuitive eye for the quirkiness of family life, his novels are full of wry comments and perceptive observations. This exquisite sense of detail has led to the filming of three of his books. His most engaging character is Gaylord Pentecost – a charming seven-year-old who observes the strange adult world with utter incredulity.

Eric Malpass also wrote biographical novels, carefully researched and highly evocative of the period. Amongst these is ‘Of Human Frailty’, the moving story of Thomas Cramner.

With his amusing and lovingly drawn details of life in rural England, Malpass’ books typify a certain whimsical Englishness – a fact which undoubtedly contributes to his popularity in Europe.

Married with a family, Eric Malpass lived in Long Eaton, near Nottingham, until his death in 1996.

Buy book:

Buy ebook:

ISBNs: 9780755101962 978-0-7551-0196-2 Title: a house of women ISBNs: 9780755141739 978-0-7551-4173-9 Title: a house of women