The House in Lordship Lane

Inspector Hanaud

A.E.W. Mason

978 0 7551 1746 8
Paperback | 276 pp
205 x 135 mm
Price: £8.99, $16.95, €14.95

978 0 7551 4142 5
Kindle eBook
Price: £3.99, $4.99, €4.99


The plump, middle-aged and ever-optimistic Inspector Gabriel Hanaud features in A.E.W. Mason’s last detective fiction. Set amid the acrid smog of London, a little affair threatens to become a big affair with deadly consequences. This is a classic Hanaud thriller that will not fail to delight crime fans everywhere.

Author biography:

A.E.W. Mason Alfred Edward Wooley Mason was born in 1865. He was educated at Dulwich College before going up to Oxford University. Once his formal education was completed, Mason went on to become an actor, which had been an ambition since schooldays.

He began his writing career with historical fiction, but then moved into the arena of politics, becoming a Liberal Member of Parliament for Coventry in 1906. However, his love of writing stayed with him and Mason further developed his repertoire and style to incorporate detective fiction, introducing one of the earliest fictional detectives, Inspector Hanaud, the Gallic counterpart to Sherlock Holmes. His detective fiction contains material clues and spontaneity.

Throughout the course of his life Mason produced over thirty titles. The most enduring work is ‘The Four Feathers’ which is the most filmed work of any writer in the 20th century, with seven versions in all. There have also been many other films and plays based on his novels, including the Hanaud series.

A.E.W. Mason died in 1948.

Buy book:

Buy ebook:

ISBNs: 9780755117468 978-0-7551-1746-8 Title: the house in lordship lane ISBNs: 9780755141425 978-0-7551-4142-5 Title: the house in lordship lane