Fire Over England

A.E.W. Mason

978 1 84232 292 5
Paperback | 256 pp
205 x 135 mm
Price: £8.99, $16.95, €12.95


Set in the Elizabethan era, `Fire Over England' is the story of Robin Aubrey, whose ambition is to both serve his queen and avenge his father who fell foul of the ‘The Spanish Inquisition’. He assembles a small fleet with a view to help fight off the Spanish Armada, but Elizabeth's advisor, Walsingham, sends Aubrey to Spain as a spy. There is love, treachery and plenty of action in this classic period drama and adventure.

Author biography:

A.E.W. Mason Alfred Edward Wooley Mason was born in 1865. He was educated at Dulwich College before going up to Oxford University. Once his formal education was completed, Mason went on to become an actor, which had been an ambition since schooldays.

He began his writing career with historical fiction, but then moved into the arena of politics, becoming a Liberal Member of Parliament for Coventry in 1906. However, his love of writing stayed with him and Mason further developed his repertoire and style to incorporate detective fiction, introducing one of the earliest fictional detectives, Inspector Hanaud, the Gallic counterpart to Sherlock Holmes. His detective fiction contains material clues and spontaneity.

Throughout the course of his life Mason produced over thirty titles. The most enduring work is ‘The Four Feathers’ which is the most filmed work of any writer in the 20th century, with seven versions in all. There have also been many other films and plays based on his novels, including the Hanaud series.

A.E.W. Mason died in 1948.

Buy book:

ISBNs: 9781842322925 978-1-84232-292-5 Title: fire over england