The Dean's Elbow

A.E.W. Mason

978 0 7551 1743 7
Paperback | 330 pp
205 x 135 mm
Price: £8.99, $16.95, €15.95


‘The Dean’s Elbow’ begins in a calm lagoon at the harbour of Canford Cliffs. It is here that Mark Thewliss brings his fiancé, Mona, to meet his pride and joy, the nine ton cutter, ‘Sea Flower’. They are to practise for a thrilling race on the sea. This is a romantic and elegant story examining the lives and loves of young 1920s socialites.

Author biography:

A.E.W. Mason Alfred Edward Wooley Mason was born in 1865. He was educated at Dulwich College before going up to Oxford University. Once his formal education was completed, Mason went on to become an actor, which had been an ambition since schooldays.

He began his writing career with historical fiction, but then moved into the arena of politics, becoming a Liberal Member of Parliament for Coventry in 1906. However, his love of writing stayed with him and Mason further developed his repertoire and style to incorporate detective fiction, introducing one of the earliest fictional detectives, Inspector Hanaud, the Gallic counterpart to Sherlock Holmes. His detective fiction contains material clues and spontaneity.

Throughout the course of his life Mason produced over thirty titles. The most enduring work is ‘The Four Feathers’ which is the most filmed work of any writer in the 20th century, with seven versions in all. There have also been many other films and plays based on his novels, including the Hanaud series.

A.E.W. Mason died in 1948.

Buy book:

ISBNs: 9780755117437 978-0-7551-1743-7 Title: the deans elbow